BANDMASTERS OF THE NORTHWEST

Unearth, Deciphered, and Compiled

By

John C. McManus

The Northwest Bandmasters Association, at that time commonly called "The Old-Timers," was organized in 1953 for the express purpose of honoring those music educators who had earned the respect and admiration of their colleagues for their unique and successful contributions to the music education of the youth of the Northwest.

Each year, one or more educators are chosen by the past honorees to receive the award and join the association. The first four people honored in 1953 were John Stehn, Andy Loney, Wally Hannah, and Captain Arthur Haynes.

By design, this unique organization ran for many years without officers or dues, although several dedicated persons, among them Byron Hoyt, John Stehn, Norm Street, and Verne Wilson, organized the yearly award ceremony and took charge of other necessary details during the early years. No minutes were taken, and no reports made. Finally, sometime during the first 40 years, one officer, a president, was chosen to hold things together. By 1993, despite a noticeable resistance to bureaucracy, a few minor adjustments to the relaxed method of operation were found to be necessary. Northwest Bandmasters Association now sports a set of by-laws and has added a president-elect and an advisory board beginning in 1994.

A picnic/meeting is held in the summer to determine candidates for induction for the yearly award; and a banquet is held in the fall for the presentation. Both get-togethers produce a bit of music and an ample supply of stories told on one another, band jokes, and historic anecdotes of all kinds. This levity balances the serious intent and major goal of the organization and of the banquet, which is to honor distinguished music educators, of which **252** have been inducted, and to remember and pay tribute to **131** deceased members as of October 23, 2022.

First Printing 1989

Revised 1993
Revised 2003 - 05 by John Bigelow
Revised 2005 - 2015 by C Glenn Tadina
Revised 2022 -to current year by C Glenn Tadina



The Founders: John Stehn, Norm Street and Byron Hoyt